Communication Systems and Networks

The Communication Systems and Networks group focuses on shaping the future of communication systems and networks, particularly in the wireless domain.


Communication Systems and Networks (CSN) research group was founded in 2014 and is a part of the research center Sensible Things that Communicate (STC). The CSN group is engaged in cutting edge fundamental and applied science, and is jointly directed by Prof. Mikael Gidlund and Prof. Tingting Zhang. The research in the CSN group focuses on communication systems and networks, particularly in the wireless domain. Our research is both theoretical and experimental, and we always strive to test and validate our theoretical work in real industrial settings. The mission of CSN is apart from research, educating the next generation of leaders in communications engineering and networks science. We teach courses in the areas of wireless communications, computer networks, network security, data mining, distributed algorithms and systems.

Our current work is focused mainly on five different research areas to understand and develop communication networks. The current research areas are:

  • Development of the theoretical and algorithmic principles of next generation wireless systems.
  • Low-power wireless communication and intelligent spectrum management for cyber-physical systems.
  • Internet-of-things and embedded intelligence
  • Security and privacy
  • Data analytics (machine learning and AI) for industrial applications

International collaborations

We have a large international academic network and are collaborating with universities and research institutes such as Aalborg University, National University of Science and Technology (NUST), India Institute of Technology Hyderabad (IITH).Beijing Jiatong University, Beijing University of Technology, City University of Hong Kong, University of Brescia, University of Bologna, University of Connecticut, and University of Pretoria.

Ongoing Research Projects

AI Competence

The project will increase knowledge, recruit and build competence in Artificial Intelligence in Västernorrland and Jämtland / Härjedalen through targeted recruitment efforts to Mid Sweden Universit...

NIIT - Next Generation Industrial IoT

NIIT is a new research action at Mid Sweden University. The industrial focus is the next generation IoT technology and methods supporting the transformation of the process industries. The research ...


Dr. Filip Barac, graduated 2016, currently at Ericsson AB
Dr. Felix Dobslaw, graduated 2015, currently a postdoc at Chalmers
Dr. Victor Kardeby, graduated 2015, currently at Swedish ICT Acreo
Dr. Stefan Forsström, graduated in 2014, currently at Mid Sweden University
Dr. Wei Shen, graduated 2014, currently at Ericsson Research
Dr. Qinghua Wang, graduated 2010, currently a University lecture in Kristianstad University, Sweden
Dr. Aamir Mahmood, postdoc 2016-2019. Currently Ass. Prof. at Mid Sweden University.
Dr. Claro Noda, postdoc 2017-2018, Currently freelancing.
Dr. Ismail Butun, postdoc 2018-2019. Currently postdoc at Chalmers University, Sweden.
Dr. LakshmiKanth Guntupalli, postdoc 2017. Currently at Ericsson Research, Lund, Sweden.
Dr. Mohamed Eldefrawy, postdoc 2017-2018. Currently assistant professor at Halmstad University, Sweden.
Dr Myung Gil Kang, postdoc 2018-2019. Currently at Samsung Electronics, South Korea.
Mehrzad Lavassani, Licentiate degree awarded 2018. Currently at RISE, Sweden.
Dr. Simone Grimaldi, graduated 2020, Postdoc at Mid Sweden University
Dr. Luca Beltramelli, graduated 2020, Postdoc at Mid Sweden University


Mikael Gidlund



Sarder Fakhrul Abedin

Universitetslektor, Biträdande|Associate Senior Lecturer


Hossam Farag

Doktorand|Doctoral Student


Stefan Forsström

Universitetslektor|Senior Lecturer


Markus Fält

Doktorand|Doctoral Student

Teklay Gebremichael

Doktorand|Doctoral Student


Gerhard P. Hancke Jr

Professor, Gäst|Visiting Professor

Syed-Ali Hassan

Professor, Gäst|Visiting Professor

Farnaz Khodakhah

Doktorand|Doctoral Student


Johannes Lindén

Doktorand|Doctoral Student


Aamir Mahmood

Universitetslektor, Biträdande|Associate Senior Lecturer


Sujash Naskar

Doktorand|Doctoral Student


Raúl Rondón

Doktorand|Doctoral Student


Emiliano Sisinni


Patrik Österberg

Prefekt |Head of Department